I love love love love making delicious food. It is very calming to me, and at the end of the day, I love to work out with Mike (actually, I hate working out, but it’s part of the larger process that I do love), then come back and start cooking supper. When we first got married, however, the biggest pain was having to come up with something to cook every night.

Behold … the Menu.

Every other Sunday afternoon, I spend about half an hour to an hour looking through magazines, cookbooks, and on the internet for cooking inspiration. I plan two weeks of dinners at a time, then make my grocery list based on what I need to prepare those recipes. This accomplishes two things: keeps me from buying food that we don’t eat (i.e. junk food), and it keeps me on track with the budget (ooooh, budgets … another thing I love! another post, though).

Here’s a sampling of what’s on the menu for the next two weeks:

  • Marinated steak kebobs, mashed potatoes, spinach salad
  • Buffalo chicken sandwiches, spinach salad (we eat a lot of spinach)
  • Homemade potato pasta with pesto (that we bought in Italy) and fresh tomatoes
  • Big salads with pears, blue cheese, bacon, olive oil, and balsamic vinegar
  • Chicken and artichoke alfredo over wilted spinach and penne
  • Grilled chicken wings, fresh corn, and zucchini from my mom’s garden
  • Ground beef soft tacos and saffron rice
