I started about 18 months ago reading through the whole Bible. I know a lot of people do it within a year, but it’s taking me a touch longer. Curiously enough, I started out just reading Exodus, but Exodus was so intriguing (and it ends like a CSI season finale with the Israelites just wandering in the desert) that I had to keep reading into Leviticus (which, thanks to the Message, can be mesmerizing), and before I know it (18 months later), I’m reading Malachi. Which is my favorite book right now. I know – what a bandwagon-hopper-on-er I am.

How can you not love a book in which God says, “You profane me when you say [about worship] … ‘I’m bored – this doesn’t do anything for me.’ You act so superior, sticking your noses in the air – act superior to me, God-of-the-Angel-Armies! … Do you think I’m going to accept it? This is GOD speaking to you!” (Mal 1:12-13 MSG)

Number one, holy cow, God sounds a lot like mothers of adolescents. I half expect the next line to be, “Look at me when I’m talking to you!” Number two, I’m pretty sure I’ve said those very words before with respect to worship – “This doesn’t do anything for me.” Uh oh. My distress, however, comes not just from the prospect of God shaking His finger at me, but from my questions about worship as a whole. I’ve said those words while the worship band plays “Awesome God” on many occasions, but isn’t worship more than singing? This is going to take some processing. I think next time I’ll stop singing for a while and reflect on what worship really means. And try not to roll my eyes.

