I made Mike’s favorite dinner this past week – creamy chicken enchiladas. He loves them. As in loooooves them and asks for them all the time. Me, not as much. I like them fine, but they’re nowhere near marinated flank steak or pizza margherita on my list. But I make them almost every time he asks because it’s a way to serve him and show him that I love him.

My heart breaks when I see selfish marriages. By no means am I asserting that ours is 100% selfless – there is plenty of pride that we constantly battle. However, I do think this is one way that we intentionally work toward a better relationship. I truly enjoy doing little things that show love to Mike in unexpected ways, even if it’s something as small as washing the dishes when it’s his turn. It’s all the more fun when I get to cook in the process!

