I’ve just declared it marriage week here at elizabethnelson.wordpress.com. I like rules that are made up on the fly.

It’s a good thing I don’t have any readers here yet, because I’d probably lose them all by bringing up submission (or half of them, perhaps more accurately).

To be fully disclosed, I have never been much of a climb-up-the-ladder-and-knock-off-the-man-at-the-top kind of girl. So, truthfully, the idea of submission has never thoroughly turned my stomach. In fact, I barely knew what it meant until about a year before Mike and I were engaged. I was in a small group with some other girls, and while we were all dying for our men to propose to us, we whiled away the days by learning how to be godly wives. The more I think about it, I realize it’s one of the most sensible things I’ve ever done.

I began to practice submission by doing just that – practicing submitting to Mike. He wasn’t my husband yet, we weren’t even engaged, but I began to test-drive submission. From the Department of The Best Divorce Is The One You Get Before You’re Married, practicing submission is one good checkpoint toward knowing if the man you’re thinking of marrying could be The One. As it turned out, it was (and is) easy to submit to Mike’s authority as head of our family because he loves me in a Christ-like way, Ephesians 5 style.

So try it out. Practice submission. If you can’t bring yourself to submit to your boyfriend, or if when you do it just goes to his head and ends badly for everyone involved, please review yesterday’s post.

Incidentally, one of the first ways I chose to exercise my submission was by submitting to Mike’s leadership as to when we got married. That turned out pretty well.

