Now I’m not here to bash anybody’s daddy, but I think most of us can testify to hearing, at least a time or two, “If it’s worth doing, it’s worth doing right.” This usually involved something like a project on Pilgrims and Indians, or the proper Armor-All-ing of leather interior, or the construction of a soapbox car. But I’m afraid it’s just not true. Not everything worth doing is worth doing right. At times, you have to examine the costs and benefits of a particular project: How much time is it going to take to do it right? How much money? What will be the return on my investment of time and money? Is it something I’m well qualified to do? Consider this the next time you set out to accomplish a task and spend an inordinate amount of time on perfectionist details. It might not be worth it.

