They don’t get a lot of love in churches today, but I adore hymns. I love the rhythm, the timelessness, and especially the words. Martin Luther could write a hymn. With CDs like Passion’s Hymns Ancient and Modern and David Crowder‘s evident reverence, I think they might be staging a comeback.

My hymnal of choice

My hymnal of choice

But the best part of the hymn is the second verse. And the third verse. And the seventh verse, which you probably never sang unless nobody came down in response to the invitation. Sure, you know the first verse to “It Is Well With My Soul,” but do you know the third?

My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
My sin, not in part but the whole,
Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

What’s your favorite hymn? Look it up here and read some of the other verses. Sheer poetry.

