I underwent a little outpatient “procedure” this week and have had my husband, my parents, my sister-in-law, and tons of friends doting on me for three days. And it’s been kind of difficult to let them do it. I am hardly an independent, go-getter, hear-me-roar kind of woman, but I certainly like to think I’m strong. But when I can’t make it up the stairs without a significant amount of help, I have to admit I am weak.

What’s even more difficult, though, is the fact that for all that Mike has done and is doing for me, I want to repay him. I want to love him back like he’s loving me – to care for him in an equal way – but there’s nothing I can do right now. I just have to accept his love and care and bask in it without giving anything back because I can’t. Anything my weak body can do is too paltry and lame.

Hmm. Kind of reminds me of another relationship I have.

