On Sunday Mikey and I drove up to Brasstown Bald to welcome fall. An extraordinarily clear, unusually cool, and atypically uneventful Sunday afternoon lent itself to a drive to Georgia’s highest point. I learned brasstownbaldthat the climate at the top of the mountain is more similar to the climate of Massachusetts than to anything else in Georgia.

I love the cold lungs we got while walking up the trail. It’s like playing that family football game on Thanksgiving where you’re sweating and freezing all at the same time.

And if you’re going to welcome fall, you’ve got to do it in force, so we grabbed a Pumpkin Pie Blizzard at the Dahlonega DQ on the way home. Get one of those, and quickly. Delightful.

Since it was about 59 degrees inside our house, we built a fire and wrapped up in blankets to watch football and track our Fantasy teams. I ask you – is there any better season? I think not.

