last_supper2“You’ve heard me tell you, ‘I’m going away, and I’m coming back.’ … I’ve told you this ahead of time, before it happens, so that when it does happen, the confirmation will deepen your belief in me.”
John 14:28-29

We give the disciples a hard time for not understanding what Jesus was telling them, but sometimes it feels pretty justified. On Thursday night alone, He told them …

  • They would meet a man in town who would show them to a room where they could hold the Passover feast (Luke 22:10-13)
  • He would be betrayed by Judas (John 13:21-30)
  • Peter would deny Him (Matthew 26:34)
  • The rest of the disciples would cut and run (Matthew 26:31)
  • He was leaving, but He would come back (John 14:28)

The disciples saw these things come to pass, yet when it came down to it, they were despondent on Friday. A complete failure of short-term memory. Yet how many times have I failed to believe something Jesus has said because it doesn’t seem true in the moment?

