I came across a recipe for a Muffuletta Calzone last weekend and, in the interest of broadening our culinary horizons beyond Italian and Chinese food, I whipped it out for dinner last night.

Holy virgin. Outstanding.

Thanks to my favorite guy‘s pizza dough (ask him about his secret ingredient) and my favorite knife, the whole thing was quick and easy.

Finely chop the following and combine in a large bowl:

  • 1 cup mixed pickled vegetables (This was a new ingredient for me, but I found them in the grocery store near the olives. The mix I bought had carrots, cucumbers, cauliflower, onion, celery, and peppers, and I olivesrinsed them in cold water first to cut down on the saltiness.)
  • 1/4 cup (or more if you’re a Waldrop) pimiento-stuffed green olives
  • 1/2 cup ham
  • 8 thin slices Genoa salami
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil

Add an 8-ounce bag of shredded Italian cheese blend, and fill your pizza dough with the mixture in calzone style. I could have easily made four calzones that were 6-8 inches along the straight side, but I made two and kept the rest of the filling for sandwiches (and wasn’t disappointed when I stuffed a pita with it today). Grate some parmesan on top and bake for about 20-25 minutes at 425 degrees.

Note: If you have a problem with salt, you should probably skip this one.

